Caller Of The Year 2022

Benj Maycock From Mecca Bingo Crowned Champion Caller!

NBG - COTY 2022: Winner Menj Maycock
Benj Maycock - National Bingo Game Caller of the Year 2022

National Bingo Game's Caller of The Year competition has been won by Benj Maycock from Mecca Wednesbury. The Final, held at Club 3000 Bingo Wigan on Sunday 13th November was hotly contested, as the eight finalist did their very best to call the numbers and entertain the audience and judges.

The nationwide competition whittled down over 200 entrants to just eight finalists from across the country, each competing against each other to be crowned Champion Caller. Over 500 Customers and supporters traveled to Wigan to cheer their finalist on and were given a warm welcome at Club 3000 Bingo Wigan, where they were treated to a complimentary glass of bubbly and a classic roast Sunday lunch, accompanied by first-class entertainment.

The atmosphere in the club was amazing throughout the day as the audience cheered the finalists on, each giving their very best performance for their supporters, who had travelled with them, and the judges. Michael Farley from Apple Bingo Sydenham, Andrew Skene from Buzz Bingo Sheffield, Christopher Graham from Carlton Bingo Stirling, Stephen Bogden from Club 3000 Old Trafford, Gary Wilson from Bingo Plus, Anton Fletcher from Castle Bingo Bootle, Richard Leyshon from Castle Bingo Cardiff (Newport Road) and Benj Maycock from Mecca Bingo Wednesbury all put on great performances, entertaining players and making some winners.

The Grand Final - 2022: Club 3000 Bingo Wigan

There can only be one winner and it was the judges task to make that hard decision. Miles Baron, CEO of The Bingo Association, Donna Kunyo Winner of the 2019 competition and Lyn Staunton from Variety - The Children's Charity judged each finalist on their knowledge of the game, presence and stage personality and their technical skills as a Caller.

The event saw great performances from all the contestants, as well as a charity game in support of Variety - The Children's Charity, the official charity of the land-based bingo industry. However, it was Benj Maycock, AKA BingooBenj, from Mecca Wednesbury Cross who stole the show, with his performance of his self-penned rap B!ngo!, which has also just been released under his alias.

CEO of The Bingo Association, Miles Baron comments: "We are delighted to run the National Bingo Game Caller of the Year competition again as it's a great chance to recognise the talent, dedication, skill and the vital role of the Bingo Caller in the customer experience. This year's finalists didn't disappoint either, making it a tough decision to choose the winner but all judges agreed the Benj deserved to be crowned the champion. From start to finish the atmosphere was amazing and really captured what bingo is all about, it brings people from all walks of life together to play the game and enjoy themselves."

Benj Maycock, commenting after his win was announced said, "I am really happy that I have won and to be crowned National Bingo Caller of the Year! The whole atmosphere today has been electric. I want to thank everyone who came and supported me, and all the other amazing acts. I can't wait to celebrate with my club and represent the bingo industry over the next coupe of years."

In addition to taking home the trophy and title Benj also received a £1,000 prize. All runners-up each received £500 and a commemorative trophy to mark the occasion and their success in making it to the Final.

NBG - COTY 2022 Finalists
Finalists on stage as Benj celebrates his win.

© National Bingo Game Association 2024

The EU would like us to tell you about the cookies we use on this website.
We use them to remember things such as, you’ve logged in, they also help us record data like, the number of visits a page gets so that we can improve the site.
The cookies don’t tell us amongst other things, who you are, your favourite colour or the name of your first pet. To find out more about the cookies we use see our Privacy Policy.

I agree to the use of cookies